First timer on a FPV quad

jackmulti

I am maidening mine this weekend, weather permitting. Any advance tips you can give on flying a quad on fpv? Is take off or hover a problem? Freaky!

Anything I could do to step it?

I can fly quads LOS no problem, 3D helis and planes, and fly FPV floater planes... the problem is combining all this stuff together.

Macsgrafs

Jack, I'm at the exact same position as you, but I've never flown FPV properly before. But from what I've seen, the secret is to get it up off the deck quite quickly & then slowly fly about.

Ross

Jackella

i'm new to FPV,about 10 successful flights behind me now.
my advice to you is make sure the quad behaves itself first on lots of slow flights then hover it about 3-4ft above ground and slowly follow it round the field and practise turning etc staying behind it all the time.This will give you a 'feel' for how the quad behaves when you fly FPV.

kloner

Aerial DP
I'll be going for my first flights this weekend as well. got enough crap, now it's time to see if it gets to come home

I've been practicing on phoenix from cockpit view and it seems really easy

kloner

Aerial DP
in the 4.0 versions, change it to the 3d scenery. if you have a 3d card and it enabled, full screen is 3d, in a window is 2d. then select cockpit in any model. Theres a gaui in there

Kilby

The number one thing I would say is to make sure the quad is tuned in well before you start. Take a battery and just get it trimmed in really well, maybe see if you can add a little expo to tame it down some if it's your first time. It will help you from over compensating to much. The biggest problem I had was getting used to the throttle and where hover was without looking at the controls. In the end, I put a set of microphones onboard and I can now tell what's going on just by the sound of the props.

Good luck, and get some video of it if you can!

jackmulti

Thanks Kloner: that's what I figured. On version 3 there is no such thing... I'll update