Scratchbuilt Quadrotor

Toymaker

Crashologist
I'm new to the forum but I have building and designing stuff for a while, about 35 years. This is my first attempt at a Quadrotor. After researching frame / motor/ prop sizes I decided I'd give it a go. I started out designing it in Autocad on my laptop while watching tv one night. This turned into several nights and more and more detail.I've been trying to keep it light and strong. Normally those are polar opposites, so I've been working on using light weight and strong materials. I also have access to a machine shop at work so I can work on stuff at lunch or after work. So far things have been coming together nicely. When it's done it will be a 500mm quad X.
View attachment 16278

Attachments

• QuadcopterDWG.JPG
    QuadcopterDWG.JPG
    76.3 KB · Views: 371

Toymaker

Crashologist
With the frame being 500 mm is that too big? I have 5" space between the prop tips. At this point I am looking for something a little more stable than agile. Shortening the arms is no big deal at all I just don't want to make it a hand full to fly. Any insight here would be appreciated. I am also wondering, since this is a new design what are the anticipated weights for 450mm and 500mm frame sizes? All I've been able to find is "keep it light" quotes. I haven't found a good weight range for 450mmm or 500mm frames. I have lots of places to trim weight but I'd like to keep the material there for strength if I can.

Toymaker

Crashologist
I've taken a few pictures of my progress so far.