FPV camera location?

buz914

Whats the best location to mount the FPV camera on a multirotor?
Would putting it on the gyro stabilized camera mount fool the eye when in foreward flight?

I am new to FPV and have only flown with the camera attached to the airframe. This clearly shows you when you transition to foreward flight, ect.

Opinions?

Buz

RTRyder

Merlin of Multirotors
Whats the best location to mount the FPV camera on a multirotor?
Would putting it on the gyro stabilized camera mount fool the eye when in foreward flight?

I am new to FPV and have only flown with the camera attached to the airframe. This clearly shows you when you transition to foreward flight, ect.

Opinions?

Buz

I have both fixed and gimbal mounted cams. A stabilized mount can be used but really doesn't give you good idea of the angle of the multi in relation to the ground. On my MK FPV quad I use a GoPro for the video feed and I have it mounted on a two axis gimbal with the roll stabilization disabled. The tilt angle automatically compensates and I can manually tilt the camera from level to straight down. I find the automatic stabilization a little distracting at times, if it weren't for the fact I record video with the GoPro I'd set it up so it would be manual tilt only. At least with the roll turned off I can see the angle in relation to the horizon.

On my DJI F330 the camera is mounted as far forward as I can get it and angled downward at roughly a 10 degree angle. That to me works about the best of all the different methods I've tried. Again, the ideal would be to have a TX adjustable angle on the camera but on the tiny 330 there just isn't enough space to do it.

Ken

Macsgrafs

I made a plate to go between the 2 front arms of my octo, the FPV cam is solidly mounted on this plate to show the attitude of the MR at all times.

Ross

matwelli