Radios Features Complaints Research

felipeps

Hey pilots, I’m a design student and I’m researching about radio controllers’ features.

I’d like to know from you what are your complaints about your devices.
Not talking about the radio communication itself, but about the "box with sticks".

Starting with me, my radio is a Spektrum DX7s and I find it hard to have all channels setup for each new model, there’s no display backlight, and also thought about it being smaller, but it could affect its ergonomics.

That's it, something quick. Thanks!

SleepyC

www.AirHeadMedia.com
I have always like radios with sliders or controls around the back, it's actually easier to locate sliders and such on the back while keeping your hands firmly on the sticks.

JoeBob

Elevation via Flatulation
I need a 6 position switch for my Futaba. (Taranis has one you can add)
Pixhawk flight modes are set with a 2 position and a 3 position switch. Changing the 2 position redefines what the 3 position registers.
It works, but changing flight modes is a slow exercise in caution.
A1 B1
A2 B2
A3 B3
Moving in the same column or row is easy. If you're going from A1 to A3, you can move the switch quickly enough for the radio to ignore A2.
If you move from A1 to B2, there can be enough lag before you move the second switch for the radio to think that you're asking for B1 or A2.
And I have to always check my cheat sheets labeled on the radio, and confirm which position A/B is in before moving 1/2/3. It's NOT 'Eyes free.'

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
The taranis is really a step forward in my opinion. The voice alerts and multiple switch options handle JoeBob's concerns.

They also have an incredibly robust way of assigning channels, switches, knobs and sliders. Certain screens are customizable while flying, the computer connection allows us to modify/tweak parameters and settings in a more 2015 way - as opposed to scrolling endlessly through small menus on the radio.... Almost too much to list.