Howdy from Kansas City

vinito

... and no, my name isn't "howdy", I was just sayin'...

Hi.
I'm from Kansas City and I just got done building a quadcopter.
S500 frame
APM 2.6 controller w/ NEO-6M GPS & compass
power module
3DR radio telemetry kit
30A "simon series" ESCs (apparently blheli firmware and not simonk)
Tarot 2814/700kv motors
5000mah battery (so far)

here's a quick pic of it as of last night:
Build1.jpg

I'll have some questions on the thing but I'll post those in a more suitable category.

I used to be into RC planes back in the '80s and have been out of it for a very long time. I picked up a Hubsan and then a Syma with the camera and have had a lot of fun playing around with them. Enough fun that I've got the RC bug again, but this time I'm liking the multirotors.

Not much else to say I guess. I'm a machinist so I make stuff all day long. I guess I never get enough of it or sumthin'. I piddle with electronics and been working on getting a 3D printer going for a while... it's almost there I think.

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Hey there! Welcome to the forum.

Looks like you're off to a good start, and have a feel for the controls from your time with the smaller MRs.

I just got a 3D printer going as well. Seems there is a crossover between the hobbies. And having the printer definitely allows for making parts quick that would take a week to ship, if you can even find it.

I'm working on a review of the TTRobotix Super Hornet 650. I'm going to be flying with the APM 2.5, and because of the canopy, there was no way to mount the GPS or Rx. A couple quick designs in solidworks, printer fired up and an hour later had my mounts ready to go.

Ask away with the MR questions. Plenty of great folks here to help.

vinito

Thanks for the reply.
Yea that 3D printer thing is just too handy. I've already run into a half-dozen little bits I'd like to print on this MR just because they don't exist.