FAA is blocking commercial use of quads?

zinkracer

OK, I'm brand new to all this. A person who is selling his rig posted this comment, This craft has been professionally built by me and has been flown for about total 1 hour time. Never crashed as I am a experienced RC freak and have been flying for over 30 years. I am selling because I purchased all this equipment for commercial reasons. FAA has put a damper on that so time to let it go and get on with other things"

What is he talking about?

Thanks for any information.

JG

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator
In short the FAA have not got to the point where they are allowing commercial use of drones although they are currently working on it. There are a few people out there testing the system so to speak and a lot of people working on the premiss of 'don't get caught'. There is quite a lot out there about the FAA and the fact that with regard to drones it is well behind the power curve.

zinkracer

Thanks, Carapau. Seems there are quite a few businesses out there openly advertising their drone/MR services. Any idea how they are insured?

kloner

Aerial DP
you can buy insurance, best one going right now is Transport Risk Management. Tell em kloner sent ya

It is currently unlawful to fly, over 80 cease and desist letters have been sent and they have never succesfuly charged anybody or even gone past a cease and decist letter cause they don't have a law that your breaking to charge you with. America, love the place....

good luck in your ventures..... if you target filming the public, your rules are gonna come after 2015, if you do things that doesn't capture the public like movie sets, farming, your gonna be getting rules to follow sooner,,, a lot sooner. I flew 2 gigs in the last 6 months with permits and the faa's knowledge that it was happening, right down downtown newark and out in the Sedona national forrest. One was approved by homeland security and gov Christie, other approved by the usda.....