buy new Nano QX or the discontinued MQX

Mr. T

Was about to pull the trigger on a MQX at hobby zone. The rep Mike made the comment that MQX is dicontinued (thats why its only $49) and replaced by the Nano QX. He stated it has the SAFE technology. In safe mode you control the muted craft and if you get into trouble, just let go of the stick(s) and it will correct itself. one does have the option of turning it off. My question:

I'm just learning, would the nano be better for me or am I hindering my skill development by dumbing down (or letting the craft fly for me when i get into trouble) the craft at first.

bensid54

I have a QX it's better than a flight sim and way more fun I'm not familiar with the MQX so I can't comment on those. On my QX I learned the basics in all sorts of conditions inside or outside and it can take a four story drop to pavement and come away with no damage, love that little machine. Hopefully someone with a MQX will chime in.

Mr. T

Thanks Bensid54 for your input. Do you still fly it with your SAFE mode turned on? And What controller do you use with it?

sixshooterstang

Bird's Eyes Aerial Media
the nano has autolevel functions. the mqx does not. it only holds the angle it is in. So an mqx is a sharper learning curve than the nano qx and its SAFE mode

bensid54

I fly in safe mode all the time, I find manual mode is way too wild for me. The QX also needs to be plugged in on a level surface or it will fly sideways too or a least always wanting to list even in safe mode.

Mr. T

@ Sixshooterstang
So when u say sharp learning curve I'm assuming u mean it is more difficult learn. Thank you for your answers!

Have u flown both and if so which would u want to learn from and which controller would u use.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mr. T

The QX also needs to be plugged in on a level surface or it will fly sideways too or a least always wanting to list even in safe mode.