a newbie looking for a copter for professional gopro filming

adanac

Tiki:

I've just read this entire thread. I'm more or less in the same boat as you, or I was a week ago and I'm still very new. I'm a film/tv camera operator seeking a new platform.

You may have already done this, but define as much as possible now what you want to shoot and then determine what camera you need to fly to do it (I have determined I probably need to fly a 5DM2, or at least a GH2). Determine the payload and take it from there.

I strongly considered the F550. It will definitely lift your GoPro and, if you decide to upgrade to a larger platform, you can use some of it's components on a larger bird. (I probably need an S800 or possibly an octo).

One thing I don't remember seeing in the previous ten pages is advice on training. I don't know about you, but I'm new to RC at the 4 channel level. I was advised to purchase and play with a Blade MQX and, so far, it is the best advice I've received. In my opinion, if one is new to this kind of flying, it is absolutely critical. When you lose your orientation or forget which hand controls what while flying the MQX at the relatively low height of 20 feet and it comes crashing to the ground, you realize what's at stake flying your $2000 rig. I'm building flying skills and having a great time doing it. The MQX has been very well reviewed.

Send me a message if you need someone in the same boat as you now.

tikigod19

I was advised to purchase and play with a Blade MQX and, so far, it is the best advice I've received. In my opinion, if one is new to this kind of flying, it is absolutely critical. When you lose your orientation or forget which hand controls what while flying the MQX at the relatively low height of 20 feet and it comes crashing to the ground, you realize what's at stake flying your $2000 rig. I'm building flying skills and having a great time doing it. The MQX has been very well reviewed.