Your Valued Opinons on which Quad to go with

Your Valued Opinons on which Quad to Buy?!?!

Like so many new to this. I am a photographer, mainly underwater but now adding this end. Main issue is I am typically shooting over or around water so flight time is important and being able to deal with a breeze or wind. Own several Gopros but am thinking it would be nice to have the ability to fly a Sony Nex/Mirrorless compact camera. Don't see trying to fly a full DSLR. Trying to keep things around the $2000 mark.

So…..

At this point I am considering:

1. DJI Phantom 2 with the Zenmuse gimble, upgrade the props, extra battery, and maybe DJI 5.8Ghz Video Link + 7in Monitor + 3S Batteries for FPV. TOTAL ABOUT $1700

2. Turbo Ace X830 package, http://www.wowhobbies.com/turboacex830-d-c-rtf-als2cm02-superstructuredevo10-3-1.aspx TOTAL ABOUT $2100

Don't worry about the money, what one would you pick?????? What would you add to your choice????? Is there another option I should consider????

Also I see very mixed reviews on WOW Hobbies so any input on them is also welcome.

Thanks again, really happy I found this board.

Best regards,
Martin

Last edited by a moderator:

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
Well, the Phantom will only lift a Gopro.

I would actually recommend starting with a Gopro type system to start with and learn the basics before you consider a heavier lifter which can lift a Sony Nex and up.

The Phantom 2 seems like a good starting point as all the accessories you need really add up in price on top of the aircraft.

It makes sense and much friendlier to the pocket book. In our shop (underwater photography http://www.opticaloceansales.com shameless plug) people come in, want to keep the price down and typically go with the more affordable lighting. 6 months later they are in and want to upgrade and the lights they bought are at best worth 1/2 what they paid for them on Ebay.