YAY, First Multirotor Build!!!

mbsteed

aerial video centric
pootman,

Curious, I just ordered almost the same setup. We will have to compare notes. The FC decision is fuzzy - Time will tell.

Last edited by a moderator:

pootman

I'm a newbie also, but you're welcomed to bring on the questions. It's been a fun, and some times frustrating, experience.

pootman

I ordered a I2C Octo Isolator R3 when I placed my initial order for the MK stack. After reading about the installation, it looks like it'll be though to install with a DB. I was wondering if it's worth the effort? How often does total power failure on all motors occur? I'm thinking about returning it for credit, but will install it if it's worth it. What's the consensus?

http://shop.quadrocopter.us/I2C-Octo-Isolator-R3_p_266.html

Lance

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
Sounds like a load more connectors to fail.. IMO if the if the MK dis board to made well and regular checking is carried out there should be no problem.

There is always the chance that something is going to fail. I have yest to see a video of any multirotor surviving a motor failure.

Hope some one can post a link.

DAve

Dave

RTRyder

Merlin of Multirotors
The I2C isolator board keeps a short downstream of itself from locking up the entire I2C bus as it will if all devices share the same path to the flight controller like they do attached to the PDB. By putting the board in line between the F/C and all of the BLs, a failure of any one BL will not effect the commands going to any of the others since the isolator effectively puts each BL on its own circuit.