Want to build a larger multirotor

Skyguy

Hi, guys!

I'm kinda new to the forum so if this subject has been covered before, please forgive me. I'm interested in building a larger multirotor -- preferably a quad in the 30" or larger category (I think that's something bigger than 700mm). Purpose? For advanced training and possibly photography. My eyesight isn't what it used to be so larger is better.

I am new to multis but have flown R/C fixed wing for more than forty-five years. (Yeah, I know . . . before the dinosaurs! That goes for full scale, too!)

I've looked at the HobbyKing 666 but am skeptical of the China connection; I have also researched the Turbo Ace Matrix and while it's fantastic, but I don't think I need THAT much quality! So do you have any ideas? Size is important. (Hmmmm . . . where have I heard that before?!)

If the frame is appropriate, I will work with my local hobby shop to buy the motors, EFCs, EMCs and everything else. (I'm a local businessman and want to buy as much as possible within my community. If something is not available locally, of course I'll go elsewhere.)

I hope that gives you enough information to offer your expertise. Your help is graciously appreciated.

Thanks,

Bruce

NeilM

Ive never had a problem with hobby king, some do aparently but ive been happy with their service.
Ive seen some "Large" scale versions on youtube, you might want to do a search their for quads in general.

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
I've had both good and bad experiences with HK. But my frame arrived in tact and on time. The one thing I'd mention is that my HK frame is heavy compared to many others. Mine is only a quad, maybe the heavy lifters are different - but I'd suggest looking closely at the weight of what they have to offer. You'll wrestle with it forever unnecessarily if you but heavy.

Good of luck and have fun.

SoCal Blur