Newbie here

hey everyone , so stoked I found this forum. I have been reading for hours on it. I just bought x650 carbon with camera mount. im looking to do what "dave fullmer" is doing except I am hoping to mount my canon vixia hv 30 , 544 grams, on the heli with a slight mod of the video platform. if not ill sell it and get some thing better. I also have a go pro hd. I shoot weddings, promos, etc so i am looking to step up my films. ill buy bigger multiroter in may or june but this will get me going for sure. I am a little nervous for setup and calibration but I am very persistant when it comes to projects. I also am a fan of google. some screen shots of the pc calibration page would maybe help but i suppose every heli is different the way its balanced etc. If someone wants either a little cash or just major karma, I would appreciate a phone number to maybe help me with the setup and calibration, I learn really fast by doing and also from youtube tutorials. Which i found a few for building! I am in vail,co by the way. Thanks again!!

Chris

Cabe

Welcome to the forums! (It's only 10pm in NJ, why isn't Bart doing his official greeting duteh?! :) )

Tip, don't send it up first time with the expensive camera :)

diagram.jpg

thanks I was thinking about rigging something that i could learn with like the 2x4 the guy rigged and it cant fall to the ground. i was thinking bunjee somehow connecting the top and then bottom and only allow 5 inches of play so the blades wont get caught on the way up. this way I can learn to hover steer etc. "cheesy diagram" and spelled taut wrong.

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
dc,
have you ever flown RC before? Are you in a hurry or can you take some time to get it sorted out? i wish i had time i'd fly out to vail and get you flying while sneaking in a side trip to go skiing.
if you haven't flown RC i'd strongly recommend a simulator of some sort just so you can get some sense of what you're up against in working the controls.