Newb from Vancouver, BC

ctbon

I'm going to be building an Okto2 and I'm very excited and a bit scared. I have no experience with soldering and I don't want to cook anything!

If there is anyone in the Lower Mainland here that can solder, let me know.

I can't wait to fly! (weather permitting of course, on the rainy west coast)

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
Hi and welcome ctbon.

Rainy Vancouver!!? Its always been beutiful when I have been there either on my way to Whistler or riding the North Shore!

Check out this Okto build guide its an excellent newb build example

https://sites.google.com/site/mkokto2/home

This was done by Reece2. He is a contributor on this forum.

Good luck, it would be nice to see you post your build pics in the MR build thread. If you run into difficulties just holler, there are loads of great guys on here that will jump in and help you out!

Dave

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
I'm going to be building an Okto2 and I'm very excited and a bit scared. I have no experience with soldering and I don't want to cook anything!

If there is anyone in the Lower Mainland here that can solder, let me know.

I can't wait to fly! (weather permitting of course, on the rainy west coast)

Welcome to the site ctbon!! If you're planning to drop the cash for an Okto, plan to spend about $100 to $150 on a good soldering iron like this weller

http://cgi.ebay.com/WELLER-SOLDER-S...305?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item588df95359

there are a lot of videos that offer guidance on soldering and it's really a neat skill to learn which doesn't take long. it's worth the $$$ to have someone "ARF" your boards which leaves you with fewer soldering tasks to complete and gets you flying sooner.

Don't be shy, ask questions, jump right in!
Welcome!
Bart

Macsgrafs