My First Build!

nate

Hey all, wasn't sure if I should put this in the beginner section, but I'm more of a builder than beginner, so it goes here! I am an ex commercial pilot turned computer science student and I've decided to build/program a quadcopter during my off time. My blog nathanthunem.wordpress.com goes over everything so far. Any help/advice would be awesome and appreciated! I just ordered the parts, let's have some fun!

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Welcome to the forum Nate!

Looks like you've embarked on a very addictive hobby :).

Did you plug the details into ecalc to see what type of lift capacity and flight times you'd get with the various components? It's good for giving a decent estimate.

Do you plan on carrying any payload?

Let us know how you make out.

nate

Hey thanks for the welcome! I did plug it into eCalc and numbers came out to about what I expected. It should generate plenty of lift with no payload. I may carry some payload on down the road, but I think for my first build this will just be getting it to fly and what not. Once I get this one off the ground (hehe) I will probably build another one that has more power to carry a camera or other type of payload.

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
That sounds like a good plan. I think you'd probably want a lower Kv motor if you were adding payload. But by that time you'll probably be on to a new frame, new props new.... :)

fltundra

Hey all, wasn't sure if I should put this in the beginner section, but I'm more of a builder than beginner, so it goes here! I am an ex commercial pilot turned computer science student and I've decided to build/program a quadcopter during my off time. My blog nathanthunem.wordpress.com goes over everything so far. Any help/advice would be awesome and appreciated! I just ordered the parts, let's have some fun!
I would get better motors. Lower kv and better quality as Moto suggested.

Biotechborg