Mikrokopter MK3638 Bad Motor?

RBlax

Hey guys,

Firstly I'm new to the building process. So if you catch me doing something stupid please let me know.

I am putting together a Droidworx AD8 HLE with the Microkopter motors and chips. When I got the powerboard on and attached the motors I powered it up to test the connectivity. All motors except for one chirped and did a partial spin. My soldering is per the instructions on the Microkopter website, but after it sat for max 2 minutes with power the contact points were warm. I disconnected power and disconnected the wires. I'm not sure if this is a board problem or a motor problem. I'm thinking it's a motor problem though.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
just running out the door but use a magnifying glass to make sure you didn't bridge any solder across the motor attach pads on the one BL.
it'll be interesting to see performance with you 3638's vs. my Avroto's

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
but after it sat for max 2 minutes with power the contact points were warm.

Which contact point?

Just the ones on the motor that did not spin up?

Is MK tools reporting any error?

Have you run a motor test?

Dave

ovdt

Other notes:

* Use a 9V standart battery for smoke test to see if all the BL Ctrls are OK (green light).

RBlax

Which contact point?

The three contact points on the powerboard (for the number 4 motor). The motor itself did not seem warm.

I have not gone further into the build so I do not know if software will flag anything. I just felt I had better get a replacement motor before continuing with the build. Should I keep building? I figured I would have to undo a lot of stuff to put a new motor in.

Also, the lights on the board for that particular motor are lit up. So it is receiving power and does not appear to be a short circuit. I will check with a magnifying glass to make sure.

I'll post some pictures later if it will assist. My soldering isn't the best!

Thanks