Aeronavics / Droidworx Measuring motor angle Ad8HL

Blacksails

I've been flying the AD8 for a couple of years now on a wkm. It's performed beautifully but I've always had a yaw problem. If I yaw to the right it's all fine. If I yaw to the left it will carry on yawing for 10-20 degrees after I release the sticks. I've been able to live with this for a while after numerous attempts to sort it. It hasn't caused any problems, its just an annoyance.

Now that I've fitted a brushless gimbal, and everything is beautifully smooth, this yaw problem really shows up on footage.

I'm presuming a couple of my motors are not perfectly straight. Looking at them, they all seem fine but I don't trust my eyes.

There are locators on the motor mounts on the ad8 series which is supposed to make the motors align properly, but obviously not. I have no idea how I'm going to adjust them due to these little locators on the mount and boom.

How do you guys measure to ensure that the motors are aligned correctly?

Blacksails

Expert model destroyer and aerial photographer!

ChrisViperM

You need a Digital Angle Gauge (something like this): http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/...s_digital_pitch_gauge_for_r_c_helicopter.html
But even for most smartphones you get an App to do that job.

Sometimes yaw problems can be solved by mounting the motors with a slight angle of about 3° - 6°.....Counter Clockwise engines need a shim under the right side of the motor, Clockwise engines a shim under the left side of the motor.
As an example see the Manual of the DJI S800, Page 17 (Troubleshooting) . The arms marked with a dot are CCW, the arms with an X are CW....

http://download.dji-innovations.com/downloads/s800/S800_User_Manual_en.pdf

Chris

Blacksails

Thanks Chris,

Looks like shimming is the answer then as I cannot adjust them any other way.