I just don't get the whole battery thing...why can't you use all the available power?

mmurfitt

As will become apparent I'm new to the whole world of RC and as such I just don't get why you can't use all the available power in your battery.
In normal life you charge a battery, you then use it/discharge it and when flat, you charge it again.
Why are the Lipo batteries different?
Why can you only use part of the available charge?
I've bought a 14.7v 5000mAh however from what I've read I can't really use it if the voltage falls below 10.7v, why is that?
What happens if you do use the remaining voltage?
Does it drop off super quick or something?

kloner

Aerial DP
and it starts at 16.8 total....... if you take a 4s pack to 11 volts, it's done, smoked, no more, junk

You have a modern cell phone, ever see it say low battery and shut off? That's a lipo being protected by a computer. same things happen with anything lipo, cause if not it will cause a fire, it will destroy the battery instantly, it does alot of things. Don't hate technology, embrace it, follow the normal use train of thought......

why do we put up with this kinda stuff, easy,the energy that comes out of these things is incredible and the weight is almost non existent. if you had been around 6-7 years ago and went to fly this thing and found out you needed 130 cells of nimh or nicd that weighed 10 lbs to get a 2 minute no power flight. now with brushless and lipos, EVERYTHING has changed.

mmurfitt

Thanks Bartman.

Is it me, being a naive RC newbie, but with a battery which has a capacity of 14.8 volts, isn't it an awful waste of 13.2 volts??

As I said in my original post I'm clearly completely new to the whole RC thing, but isn't it about time the guys who make batteries sort something out where the drop off doesn't mean you waste the energy of the majority of your battery?