Hi, got the multicopter bug here in Southern CA

Raldan

Hi everyone. I'm new to RC and have come in through the gate marked "Quadcopters". I edit video for a living and after seeing my friend's DJI Phantom II with a GoPro, I started looking for a platform to learn on.

I went to my local Hobbytown USA and after some chatting picked up a Blade 350qx bnf and a DX6i. I am at square one, but the Blade is giving me some good lessons as I move from the Green mode (safe mode) to Blue mode (stability mode). Blue mode is the closest I've come to real flying.

I've watched a load of flightest videos and am working on a Anycopter Hex. If there's a place in these forum's for someone with my particular malady, please point me the way there. I have much to learn.

Corona, CA

jbrumberg

Welcome Raklan. Everyone should start at square one. One really learns to fly the way you are going with your learning curve. Practice, practice, practice. A lot of owner/operators think they can start at square 3 or 4; they waste a lot of money generally and usually discover they really do not know how to really fly these things. Challenge yourself flying as you practice over time you will crash less, but you will crash much better. Have fun

Raldan

Thanks, guys. jbrumberg, I like your sig. My wife also looks on this new obsession with a jaundiced eye, but it beats robbing banks. She might encourage the latter though, once she sees the trickling cost of this hobby.

I'm on the lookout for a thread where we can list our finished projects with specifics on AUW vs. Batt/ESC/Motors/props/batts and subsequent flight times. I keep finding threads where someone asks for help, gets it and forgets to tell us what they finally found successful. I promise that once I do, I'll try to remember to share. ;)

BTW, you can't miss it, but I recommend the following thread to my fellow beginners, very helpful!

http://www.multirotorforums.com/showthread.php?1617-Before-you-buy-please-read-this

jbrumberg