Hi all , jumping right in

bigholty

Hi there the names Ian , new to flying but very keen to learn the basics up to the final build , im looking at the TBS Discovery ARTF kit , what are your views on this kit.
Also the transmitters whats the main reason to have so many channels , some ive looked at have 12 channels ?? is it for switching extra parts on /off or is it for control of the gps system etc , as im a beginner ( my limited flying skills are down to the hubsan x4 ) im wanting to be ale to fly with full fpv system in the future ,but for now a basic quad ( i really only want to build one good one and upgrade parts as i progress and brake them ) , the prices seem to differ massively from £60.00 to more than £500 for a good controller and receiver , on my hpi baja rc car i use the futuba 3pl system , which is an excellent controller , its never glitched on me the range for a surface controller is 500 over meters or until i cant see the car any more ....ive never gone out of range with it yet !!
SO with an ARTF kit whats your thinking behind what you use and what i should buy , bearing in mind its probably going to get ground rash on it few times lol .
i have a budget of around £500.00 to build my own quad ,( excluding the controller and receiver ) its just knowing what to get and buy it once , not buy this thinking i wish id bought that etc ...for an example my HPI 1/5th scale 26cc baja i bought not knowing that much about the problems these cars come with , i very quickly found out what they were , but buying upgrades soon became a minefield , but i joined a forum and all my questions where answered and hopefully like this forum it info wasn't with bias towards a singular manufacturer..
So please be gentle and with out insulting anyone please say it english lol not abbreviations although i know what fpv,gps and RTH is so far , the rest im learning lol and theres lot of em
thanks people .
Ian

bigholty