Hey all newbie here from California

Hey everyone- I'm a mechanical engineering college student and over the past three months I've managed to teach myself enough to get a custom-built quadcopter based on the F450 into the air and flying. I'm sticking with a lot of 3DR stuff, as I'm pretty interested in the autonomous capabilities, along with integrating different types of sensors such as sonar and infrared cameras. But then again I am already planning on building a X8 for long range FPV.... yet I only have so much space in my college-sized bedroom, which has already lost all it's studying areas to soldering irons and disassembled motors so who knows where this great hobby will take me.

Considering this the only thing I've built besides dorm-room shelving, I've got lots of questions but am also looking forward to helping other young people get into the hobby as it matures into an industry.

Exciting times!

attachment.php

Attachments

• Picture w: legs.jpg
    Picture w: legs.jpg
    145.2 KB · Views: 206

Av8Chuck

Considering this the only thing I've built besides dorm-room shelving, I've got lots of questions but am also looking forward to helping other young people get into the hobby as it matures into an industry.

Exciting times!

Welcome to the insanity. Where are you going to school?

If you really want to help young people enter this emerging industry then go and join here: ACUAS.org. Getting people interested in this hobby is not that difficult, making sure there's an industry for them to work in is a whole other issue.

Welcome to the insanity. Where are you going to school?

If you really want to help young people enter this emerging industry then go and join here: ACUAS.org. Getting people interested in this hobby is not that difficult, making sure there's an industry for them to work in is a whole other issue.

Santa Clara University.

Cool- joined. Any other resources or advice you have for someone just hopping in like me?

Av8Chuck