Hello from Milton Keynes UK

Hi Guys,

Been lurking off and on for a bit and it's time to say hi.

I'm new to RC in general but multi rotors have really caught my attention. I've had an AR.Drone for a short while but never really enjoyed flying it until recently when I came across Miru's RC mod. Now I've out grown it as its a toy really. It's not done bad though and has just about dragged around my GoPro.

I recently got to see a MK hexa in action and that's what made be get into building a 'proper quad'.

So far I have built a sub 1kg carbon fiber quad with a Hoverfly Pro FC and am getting used to building, soldering and the hardest bit FLYING. I'm not doing too bad but I need to refine the quad a bit and get the gains all sorted before I can get some proper practice in. The plan is to add the GoPro on a 2 axis gimbal and FPV only once I'm confident in piloting the quad. Even then I'm not planning on flying with goggles, it's just so I can see if the camera is framed right.

I know a few different people making mountain biking videos and armature level and it would be great to help them out with some AV. More than that though it's about having something to do in the evenings once the kids are in bed and the mrs is studying as I'm not getting out on the bike as much recently. So far I've realy enjoyed the challenges that come along with building a quad from scratch.

Right now I'm waiting a few parts to make adjustments and repairs but here's where I'm at...

Untitled by demowayne, on Flickr

ZAxis

Nice to see another UK MR user. Just out of interest, where did you see the MK Hexa that inspired you ?

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
Hi Wayno.. Welcome to MRF.

I am sure you will get all the help you need here. Ther are a couple of old grumpy buggers.. (me for one) but on the whole there aint a better plece for info and gerneral chat on MR's