Hello everyone, another newbie here with an ESC question

I have a quad copter with the KK 2.1 board, I was able to fly it with out much a problem aside from a little oscillation in self level mode, but anyway I recently replaced all my motors due to the difficulty of finding props for the stock motors. After installing the new motors I noticed that one of the motors would not spin, even after calibrating the ESCs pushing buttons 1 and 4 (Which never seems to work anyway) so switched motors around to make sure one of my new motors wasn't bad and it wasn't. So I determined I had a bad ESC. So I bought a new ESC (Different brand and a 35a vs. 30a stock one). The motor with the new ESC will spin faster and start spinning before the other 3. When try calibrating the ESC's pushing buttons 1 and 4 and having the TX throttle all he way up it will either do the beeps but never give me the beeps that says it finished the calibration or all the motors will spin up and remain that way as long as I hold down the buttons. What am I doing wrong? Is not working because I have one ESC that is different?

Thanks a lot in advanced for any help! :)

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
To clarify, you now have 3 identical ESCs, and 1 ESC which is different? If so, not sure that's a good idea. Hopefully someone else will chime in here - but I'm pretty sure you want to have matched ESCs - and everything else for that matter.

One thing you might check it that your power distribution is working correctly. I just had an issue with mine where 1 ESC was not getting power. Actually it was intermittent, making it even more difficult to trace. Sounds like you're having a different issue - but worth checking anyway.

Also, make sure you add as much detail to your question so that people can help you better. What type of quad? Which brand ESC/motor etc.

Make sure you put your location in your profile so people know where you're at.

Good luck.

Scott

Last edited by a moderator:

jbrumberg