Gopro 3 Black Protune Post Processing?

jcmonty

Hey Guys,

I have been flying my GP3 black a lot recently - mostly in 1080 M 60fps Protune ON. Today I switched it up and turned protune off. Wow, I know that protune ON needs post to look good, and I have been doing that. But straight out of the camera the protune off looks way better than I have been making the Protune ON footage look after post.

Granted, I am a novice at editing, grading, etc, but I am trying to learn. Do you guys have any tips on how to make the protune footage look better than the non-protune footage? I would think with the adding bit-rate there is more to play with.

Generally, I convert to apple pro res and edit in FCP 7. I have avoided Cineform since for me it's slow and crashes a lot.

Thanks,
Jonathan

kloner

Aerial DP
You gotta run em through cineform, I can't see plugs vid but most likely like that. Apply protune and it comes to life

kloner

Aerial DP
this is 2k protune

almost overdone

this is recorded not protune 1080p med 60

Last edited by a moderator:

Chadfish

If you don't have any grading tools such as Magic Bullet looks or something like that with lits of tools, the Cineform Studio will be easy for quickly punching up your ProTune footage. I personally use Magic Bullet looks to remove the Fisheye, then process the footage with color correctors, black crush tool, de-flare, gamma curves etc. I've made some presets that I can now just drop on and tweak to taste with minimal effort. Then last in line I put a sharpen filter on since Protune removes all in-camera processing. You get better results processing the footage with good tools, but you get decent results with the Cineform tools if you don't have tools of your own. I too am still in FCP7. I also use Motion 4 to stabilize my footage with great results, though you shouldn't try to just stabilize a whole flight of course.

Rrock