Gimbal Alware

nisouck

Attachments

• Alware Gimbal.jpg
    Alware Gimbal.jpg
    144.7 KB · Views: 281

RTRyder

Merlin of Multirotors

I have no direct experience with it but one thing to note is that they are not using external potentiometers with the servos, the result of that is the mount will have a limited range of motion on all axis. The degree of tilt you see in the video is the maximum you will be able to attain with it, so in other words while it has sufficient range of motion on tilt for the flight controller to compensate for the movement of the multi, you will not be able to manually tilt the camera to face straight down. In some cases you can offset the center point of travel in the flight controller software setup for more travel in one direction but in any case it will limit the compensation travel in opposite direction, usually not too much of a problem on the tilt axis.

Personally I think it would be a good starter mount if it were about half the asking price, as-is it's too much $ for the limited capability you'll get from it.

Ken

GGoodrum

is the way they setup the gears desireable versus the pulley/belt?

I've found that with geared systems, there's always going to be a bit of backlash, or "slop" in the gears, which tends to get worse over time. You don't have this problem with belt drives, in my opinion.

-- Gary

powerplay

Hi,

i ordered the aware 3axis. At the moment the gimbal is in custom transit to me. I hope, i´ll get it end of this week or beginning of next week.
I will write about my experiences....

Kari