Canon 5D markii - aerial photograhy

Dixon

I have quite a bit of experience with aerial photography using fixed wings aircraft and helicopters.
However, I am very new to aerial photography using a drone. I am picking up a hexacopter next week and my
biggest concern with the 5d markii is obtaining focus and correct exposure while I am on the ground and the
camera in the air. While shooting from an aircraft, I always used a shutter speed of 1/1000 and let the apeture fall
where it needed to. What are your suggestions while using a drone to capture images correctly?

Thanks,
****son

jes1111

You can leave autofocus engaged but I prefer to tape down the focus (exactly where depends on focal length), take an appropriate spot reading (blue sky or grass/leaves) and set the camera to full manual, shooting raw and auto-bracketing half- or 2/3 stops both sides. That's one reason I prefer the Nikon D300, D800, etc - nine-shot bracketing built in. Auto exposure is a crap shoot - I don't favour it. If you do use it, remember to block off the viewfinder eyepiece. I find it much easier to deal with the raws back at base if they are all covering the same EV range.

Dixon

Thanks for that information. The tape is an excellent idea. I will need to run some tests comparing auto-focus vs manual with the tape. The lens I will be shooting with will be a Canon 28mm so I will probably set the
focus at infinity and tape it in place. Another question I have is about FPV's involvement with Canon's live view. Does FPV feed off of the live view that Canon provides or does it bypass live view and feed from another source within the camera?

Thanks,
Dixon

kloner

Aerial DP
we typically run the shutter double the frame rate and nd filter the lens back to it's sweet spot with nd's for video....