Better (Best) Option For My Desired Use? School Me!

Pura Vida

I'm new to the MR world and am looking to pick up my first one. It will be used to provide aerial photos for work projects around harbors and channels. My desired parameters are as follows;

- Needs to carry a Go-Pro or similar weight and gimbal.

- Needs to be easily packed into a "reasonable" sized Pelican Case for flight/transportation

- Needs to have approximately 15 minutes of flight time

- Would really like to be able to have it programmable for autonomous flight

- Programmable flight needs/is preferable to be done in the office prior to deployment in the field

- Minor weather/rain resistance would be a huge plus

After talking with my local hobby shop I believe DJI's Phantom 2 with extras fulfills all of these requirements. This is of course assuming Ground Station is available mid month for the P2, as they are claiming. Is there any other options that would better fulfill what I am after? It does not necessarily need to be RTF. The other appealing aspect of the P2 is the affordability, at approximately $1500 for everything I'm looking at seems pretty reasonable. I don't think I'm willing to go much over $2k at this time, but would still really like to hear about any and all options. Is their better quality copters out that that would be more reliable? Is there superior autonomous flight controls and software available? How much are the fly aways I've read about a ligitimate concern? Specifically in remote villages with little expected interference? If Ground Station is the best available software, but ends up not being available for the P2, is there another DJI platform that fits the above criteria? Keeping in mind the size and portability is a HUGE advantage with the P2. Thanks

PV

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Hey PV. Welcome to the forum.