Autopilot ( Gain Settings ) on the Naza with Flamewheel 550

First ... please bear with me... total newbie on Multi rotors.. What's a good starting point on the autopilot ( gains ) . I have them all set at 100% and it hovers OK... not rock solid.. there is some drifting around. Would changing those settings lock it in better ? I was hovering in the garage about 3-4 feet off the ground. would it be better to take it outside and go a little higher ? Does ground effect cause issue with tuning it ? Thanks for the help Joe

kloner

Aerial DP
you want to read the manual about setting the gains....... a bone stock rig does alright at 130 across the manual line and 90 on the atti line. it generaly behaves but yea, there not perfect till your skills to tune em is there. good props goes a long ways there. but if your crashing, good balance of cheaper props is a close second.....

don't fly it around inside, take it outside and get it up head high and look at what it does. Hovering, about any setting works. the gains are more about how much naza flies it versus you, as in forward flight

Tahoe Ed

Joe,

I generally like 145/145/135/150 and 90/90 with 30% expo on the elevator and aileron channels. Yes you need to get out of the prop wash 6 feet up is enough until you get confident enough to crash. Have fun and welcome to the club. If you have any questions, there is always someone here that will answer and help you out.

Cool thanks... yea I was thinking that 3-4 feet was being affected by the prop wash.... so the higher the number the less sensitive it gets ? I'll dial in the expo on the A & E channels also... I was going to do that but wanted to at least hover it tonight LOL It's been cold... snowing and raining here... darn hurricane ! in Ohio ! LOL

Dewster