900mhz Antenna Help DJI F550

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
I have a F550 hexacopter DJI knock off that sits on 6" legs. Currently I'm using a 900mhz 1.5MW transmitter and with the stock transmitter and, a Yagi 12dbi and 5dbi Omni wip on my ground station using the Eagle tree diversity controller I only get about 500 feet of range before it starts to break up pretty bad. I've heard many people say they have had similar problems with the stock transmitter antenna but I want to be sure before I throw money around. I found the 900mhz Bluebeam antennas by IBCrazy but they are rare in 900mhz and are rather large, I was told 6" across. Is there anything better? Is my range problem probably the stock transmitter antenna or is there something else I should check? I figured with diversity that my picture would get a lot better and it did get a little better but the range is still about the same. Thanks for your help and I'm new to the multicopter world as well as the multicopter forums.

kloner

Aerial DP
900 is a problem with cp antennas, there 7 or 9" across, forget the exacts but there huge. the straight antenna should be working fine unless your changing the angle of the craft alot, like side to side or for and aft 40 degrees or more. if not, it's something else, usually interference from something

helloman1976

Ziptie Relocation Expert
900 is a problem with cp antennas, there 7 or 9" across, forget the exacts but there huge. the straight antenna should be working fine unless your changing the angle of the craft alot, like side to side or for and aft 40 degrees or more. if not, it's something else, usually interference from something