Receiver Battery pack size?

Im going to power my receiver by a separate battery. Im unsure how large it needs to be and if lipo with a bec is the best way to go about it.
Since its not going to be powering anything other than the receiver I cant imagine it would have to be a big battery.

What size would you buy?
Would you get a lipo with bec or another type of battery?

Cheers Ryan

BorisS

Drone Enthusiast
Hi Ryan,

why are you planning on powering the RX separately ? Its just another LIPO to take care of and check that its not low etc.

Boris

Im going to be running a emcotec remote controlled power kill switch, the receiver needs its on battery to make this happen. Alough I just had a thought. I could just pull power off the main battery pack before it hits the emcotec unit. Can you see any issue with that?

Efliernz

Pete
Ryan

I have no experience with the kill-switch system but if you need just an independent rx battery... a basic 2S lipo + UBEC will do. An rx on its own will barely draw 50-100mA. A 2S1200 - 2S1800mA lipo would have you sorted all day - with a <100g penalty.

Pete

BorisS

Drone Enthusiast
Hmm not really see a problem there. BEC to RX powered from the main battery, switch on the system from your Radio. I don't see any GND loops that wouldn't be there anyways. But i don't have any experience with remote power switches !

I was just thinking in my terms I always forgot stuff and every part that i can spare or don't have to take care off eases my setup time and chances that i actually get to fly once i reach my destination.

Ryan

I have no experience with the kill-switch system but if you need just an independent rx battery... a basic 2S lipo + UBEC will do. An rx on its own will barely draw 50-100mA. A 2S1200 - 2S1800mA lipo would have you sorted all day - with a <100g penalty.

Pete

Would a 2s have enough voltage at 6.6, to drop to 6v ok? I thought becs needed a bit more voltage for the drop?

BorisS

Drone Enthusiast