Pro's & Con's of 3S vs 4S Batteries

mrwestern

I am a newbie here, having just built my first F550 (stock motors and blades). I was hoping someone (in the know how) could shed some light on the Pros' and Cons' of using 3S vs 4S batteries.

My observations so far are (This is for the same mAh):
Price: 3S cheaper than 4S
Weight: 3S lighter than 4S
Flight time: 3S longer than 4S (That is what the sales guy at the Hobbyshop told me - using 8"props for 4S and 10" props for 3S - so this needs to be substanciated :) )
Revs: 3S lower than 4S (Prolonged life for motors? Less heat and wear and tear)

I would appreciate your informed views, if you could add factors to the list or refute it that would be appreciated! Thanks.

rilot

Pros for 4S:

More power
More lifting capability

Once your F550 gets above 2kg you'll struggle with 3S as you'll have very little power in reserve.

mrwestern

Pros for 4S:

More power
More lifting capability

Once your F550 gets above 2kg you'll struggle with 3S as you'll have very little power in reserve.

Thanks Rilot for the response. DJI recommend using 8" props for the 4S - I assume because the revs are higher on the motors and 10" props will put too much strain on the motors? What are the most efficient props, to increase flight time?

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
If you head over to eCalc you can swap batteries and props and see the relationship and effects these changes have. Might not be perfect, but it's great for researching these types of choices.

Good luck!

Thanks Rilot for the response. DJI recommend using 8" props for the 4S - I assume because the revs are higher on the motors and 10" props will put too much strain on the motors? What are the most efficient props, to increase flight time?

Bigger props, turned slower = better flight times.

I prefer to think of 3S = "endurance", and 4S = "performance". Hardly scientific, but there you go.