RAW Video Explained

adanac

Hello! I am new to multirotors and have been getting a lot of great assistance here. I'm not yet to the point where I can contribute with multirotor knowledge, but I do know a bit about video so I thought I'd post something basic about it here in order to give back a little. I know this will be rudimentary and much simplified for many here but some folks new to video might find it useful. The subject is....

RAW Video

Your still camera...
An easy way to approach this subject is from your own, digital still camera. Virtually all digital still cameras on the market produce an image file called a jpeg. Although a jpeg can look great, it is (in this context) a compressed, lossy version of the image the camera produces for you at the time you took the shot. It takes all the sensor data and, using a (usually brand-proprietary) algorithm, discards a lot of image information to produce a file that is, hopefully, a good trade-off between image quality and file size.

However, many (better) cameras also allow you to produce RAW files. These files contain much more of the sensor data your camera recorded. All that additional data allows you manipulate the image files in post, permitting ISO, white balance and exposure changes, to name a few, while retaining a high degree of image fidelity that would not be possible with a jpeg.

The trade-off is that producing RAW files takes much more (and faster) storage, and requires processing and data speeds that cost more. With few exceptions, even the best digital still cameras are able to shoot RAW at only several frames per second, with a limited amount of total frames possible.

Video cameras....