Why frames are soo expensive?

Bimo Bimo

I am a newbie and I am surprised by the frame prices?
Can you please explain the factors that contribute to the cost?

tstrike

pendejo grande
I am a newbie and I am surprised by the frame prices?
Can you please explain the factors that contribute to the cost?
For the sole purpose of keeping riff-raff out of the hobby. You can build a simple wood frame for like 10 bucks if you think pre-made frames are overly expensive.

Kilby

If you are buying carbon fiber or fiberglass frames, that is your answer. That material is not cheap, and is presents a huge list of dangers when you work with it. It also takes a lot of money to tool and buy the machines that cut them out.

Bimo Bimo

If you are buying carbon fiber or fiberglass frames, that is your answer. That material is not cheap, and is presents a huge list of dangers when you work with it. It also takes a lot of money to tool and buy the machines that cut them out.
Can you please provide a hint about the "huge list of dangers"?

bensid54

The dust from sanding those two can get into your lungs and cause much health related problems. The fumes from the resin for both are toxic and can overcome you very quickly without a proper respirator or a well ventilated room.

bensid54

I understand a Centre of gravity or balance point is important when locating your controller to a home made frame. Weight is a big factor because that will dictate what you need for motors, props, ESC and batteries. I bought a Quad with ready made frame and used what they recommended because even though I'm passable at making my own stuff I'm too new to this end of RC to start with my own scratch build.

cbpagent72

Supply and demand. Eventually as more and more companies start making multirotor aircraft the crazy prices will go down. Right now there isn't a lot of competition.