Starting with one frame then moving on up with different frame possible?

TechBill

I am still new to the game and still looking for a frame to start with. I think I will start with a Hexa.

But I am wondering if I was to start with a Quad frame and get the controller, motors, ESCs etc. then put it together. Later if I wanted to upgrade frame from Quad to Hexa or Hexa to Octa frame , is it still possible to salvage the hardware off and install it on a upgraded frame?

Will the motor be the same on all frame or does bigger frame mean need a bigger motor?

Is even possible to put a bigger motor on Quad but scale back the power until moving to an upgraded frame?

Thank you for your feedbacks

Bill

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
Bill,

The best first question is what are you trying to accomplish? Have any long term goals? Any prior experience building/flying RC?

It helps to know what you're trying to do before offering any advice. If you make a few good decisions now you'll have equipment you can use later so I guess the answer to your original questions is Yes. :)

Hope that helps!
Bart

TechBill

Yes I have experience building R/C planes and cars. I started back in the early 80's. I was an electronic engineering but now finishing up my degree in computer science. Building and soldering is very trivial task for me since I been doing it for the last 30 + years both in my job and as a hobby. I am 50 year old now.

Right now I am waiting to see what FAA requirement will be to use drone for commercial purpose. My goal is to run a side business for powerline inspection or any farming purposes. So basically I will need an aerial video drone but since FAA have not announce the requirement so I thought I would start with a Quad to practice flying drone. I know it not going to be the same as flying an R/C plane.