MultiWii / NAZE / SP Racing F3 Problem with MultiWii SE -- yo-yo effect during flight

Garret H

Hello,

I'm wondering if someone can help diagnose a problem with a Multiwii SE board I bought from Value Hobby. This is my first time using one of these boards, so I'm wondering if I don't have the settings quite right. Essentially, I am getting a yo-yo effect during flight. The throttle is very sensitive despite a curve and expo dialed in. After take-off, the quad shoots up in the air....then it descends rapidly, then shoots back up. With good throttle management, you can control it slightly, but the flight is not level by any means. I haven't messed with too many of the default settings other than the initial config which I know I did correctly with the help of a friend who uses this board. He has the exact same setup (different radio system) and his is flying fine....he initially reported the same problem, but changed RXs and the issue went away. I did the same but the problem persists.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Garret

RTRyder

Merlin of Multirotors
The RX can certainly do that, I have an EZUHF that is doing the same thing on every multi I put it on so I can only assume it's a problem with the RX as it happens on both a DJI Naza and a Quadrino Multiwii. Having the P value for altitude too high can also cause it as well as not having the baro covered with open cell foam. The only other thing I can think of is you have altitude hold turned on all the time which would be especially noticeable on landing where it would pogo up and down until the baro settled down and adjusted to ground level altitude. I never fly the Multiwii boards with altitude hold on, I only use it if I want to hold position for a short time. Even though A/H is much better in the 2.1 code it still isn't up to the same ability as MK or DJI.