P2 auto landing with 40% battery?

For the third time time my P2 decided to go into auto landing mode with 34% battery life showing. A few days ago it went into auto landing mode with 42% battery showing on my iOSD. Both times I have managed to bring it back home safely with increased throttle. My settings are 20% for battery warning and 15% for auto landing.

I have been using the P2 now for 9 months and I am still highly delighted with it but this new development is worrying and I am concerned it will crash if far away from the home point. I am running the latest firmware and I have 3 batteries. The problem is only occurring with my first (original) battery purchased September last year (stats below).

Design capacity : 5200
Full capacity. : 5138
Current capacity : 5108. 99%
Discharged : 35 times
% of life : 89%

Cell voltages

The battery has been discharged 35 times and is showing 89% life left. I take great care of my batteries, normally returning home at 30% and landing at 20%. I store at 11.5v and have carried out a controlled maintanance discharge to 8% after the first 20 flights as suggested by DJI.

Anyone out there experiencing similar problems?

Last edited by a moderator:

Buckaye

I have heard of several people having this issues on another forum (phantompilots). No-one seems to be able to pinpoint the problem, but from what I can see - I kind of suspect it is perhaps a bad batch of batteries. I would contact DJI with the exact info above as I have also seen people saying DJI has replaced such batteries as RMA - you're pretty close to a year so I would send them an email right away.

Unfortunately - there doesn't appear to be a pattern as to firmware or serial number - but I have noticed a lot of people saying their battery life is in the 80's in terms of percentages.