Noob Looking for Guidance

RCMindBug

Hello all,

Like many others, I'm looking to build my first drone for fpv flying. Racing? noob here. Not yet.

Quick intro, I'm not new to RC, done a lot of nitro surface RCs, and started to get into Heli's in the past. But I got robbed a few years back, and they got most if not all my Heli's and air gear (a DX8 with 1 month of use). Recently I was watching TV when I was on travel and came across DRL. Instant infatuation! Good Lord...

About 2 years ago, I wanted to get back into the air with Helis. So I started by replacing my DX8 with a DX9. It sat in the box since. I have been doing my research and noticed that Spektrum isn't king anymore. In fact, it seems like lots don't like them anymore. So I bought a FrSky Taranis to Start.

Here are my questions:

I'm starting a parts list. Here is my Google sheet. Am I missing any parts I should need?

What Flight Controller to buy?!?! Lord, there are so many options it's crazy. I have done more reading on FCs, then any other part of the drone and I still feel lost. F1, F3, F4, MuiltWii, 'Base, Clean, Beta, Race -Flight', manufactures, sensors, AIO, on and on. I'm in IT as a network engineer, so playing with firmware and Linux isn't new to me. Honestly, I still don't fully understand the meanings. At first, I thought Clean/Beta-flight was just software (GUI) to configure the FC. Then I found out it was firmware. So if anyone has a good site or vid that explains the history? I would love to know. I know this question just stirs up a debate, but I would just like to know what FC I should start with, and why? Are there classes of FC for level of experience?

Is using an RC Fight Simulator good to use for practicing flyin drones? I have Phoenix, is that good enough or should I get something else?