Next machine?

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
If you want GPS capability, you will need to buy a GPS :)

Seriously though, if you're even THINKING about using the ardupilot series (pixhawk, APM etc) you really want to start reading and researching now. They are by no means a plug-n-play option. You're going to need to spend a ton of time getting familiar with it - to ensure that you fly safe.

davey_b

Hmmmmmm, ok. I'm really looking for stuff like loiter and return to home, can you get that on other FC's that don't cost the earth?

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Unfortunately - not usually. I think the cheapest that you can get into GOS assisted flight would probably be the Naza Lite. It has attitude (which I think is similar to loiter?), GPS and manual modes. There is RTH as a fail safe - but depending on the radio - there are some nifty ways to set it up on a switch.

EDIT: I guess GPS mode is more like loiter.

davey_b

Right, sorry for being a noob here but would this be a suitable FC? If I added a GPS module would that give me things like loiter and RTH?

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
I think at this point we need to step back a bit. The one you just linked is another type of FC which will also take some time/effort to get to know.

I think the pixhawk may offer what you want - and may be a little easier than the multiwii, but still - neither are "simple."

So the question becomes, what exactly you are looking for (features) and how much time energy and ultimately money you're willing to spend.

davey_b

Ok, I'm looking ideally for loiter, RTH, maybe circle but not sure what other options you get really (showing my ignorance here!).

I'm not too fussed with a bit of setup and playing with new firmware if needed, I'm used to that with other things. I'm Scottish, therefore tight, and thus the least expensive options are good :)

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Wow. Learn something every day. Never knew the Scots were "tight." :)