Need some help choosing a frame!

migreig

Hi all, I'm new here and looking for some advice on my second quad. I previously built a Gaui 330x from a kit and want to build a 450 sized quad from scratch.

I thought buying a frame would be straight forward...boy was I wrong! There seems to be a lot out there and it's hard to tell what's quality and what's not. I like the Flame wheel 450 frame, but they're out of stock on the major sites.

What I'm after is something with integrated wiring and readily available spare parts. H or X frames considered. I've read enough on the Chinese knockoffs to know I'm not going that route!

The heli is going to be used for casual flight and eventually fpv. If I end up with an X I'll probably put retractable gear on it.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

vinito

I'm really new to all this so any advice from me is just from my very limited experience, so take it for what it's worth.
I looked at a lot of frames too, and I was also looking at that size range.
It warrants consideration for what kind of "real estate" you require for what you intend to install on the frame. In my case, I wanted a hobby-grade quadcopter to step up from the toys, but I want it to be expandable to accept a small camera and eventually (much later) some basic FPV gear. I decided on APM flight controller and two things that really make that shine in my opinion are the 3DR telemetry link with Mission Planner and of course a GPS module. But all those add-ons are pretty much all I think I'll require for quite a long time. Note that I chose the APM for my own reasons and there are several good flight controllers out there to choose from. In other words, I'm not trying to sell you on the APM. It has its pros and cons too.

I ended up shaving away lots of possibilities and ended up with a short list of three.
1) S500 frame
2) reptile 500 frame
3) HMF U580PRO frame (totem)