LIPO voltages

mediaguru

I'm fairly new to the hobby, but have read extensively.

I'm running two 5000mAh Pulse batteries on my hexa. Pulse tells me not to go below 3.7 volts, but many go down much lower. I've been listening to them and as soon as my Taranis tells me 3.7, I land. Usually they're in the high 3.7's when they recover, like 3.75.

When I balance charge them the charger is only putting back about 2700mAh, or around 53%. Far from the 80% rule and more like 53%.

Does this seem normal? Can I go closer to 3.70 volts before landing and squeeze a few more minutes?

Some seem more concerned with the amount of mAh put back, and that's their 80%. So if that's the case I should be shooting for it putting back 4000, which is WAY different than 2700!

Thoughts?

gtranquilla

RadioActive
When looking at the battery voltages when the load is connected you will see a different/lower voltage than when the batteries are not connected to a load.
Under load you have to expect the voltage to drop a bit lower than 3.7 volts near the end of a flight.
The main thing is that the open circuit voltage must not go below 3.7 per cell - IMHO

mediaguru

When looking at the battery voltages when the load is connected you will see a different/lower voltage than when the batteries are not connected to a load.
Under load you have to expect the voltage to drop a bit lower than 3.7 volts near the end of a flight.
The main thing is that the open circuit voltage must not go below 3.7 per cell - IMHO
So when I'm landing it is often around 3.75 volts and after powering down the hexa it will often end up in the upper 3.7's to 3.8. So I could go longer?

What about only putting back in 2700? 80% of 5000 is 4000. It would seem I'm being overly conservative?

Carapau

Tek care, lambs ont road, MRF Moderator