Help with my new toy - lights and legs?

Hi folks, Geoffs wind died down and he was able to test and ship my 550, and it arrived today!! :) I have a couple of questions i was hoping I could get some help with.

1) I ordered a set of LEDs when I ordered the hex, they are by GT Power RC, and I basically wanted to know how to rig them up. I bought a Turnigy switch with the plan of being able to flick them on/off from the radio. Can I simply connect the switch to the "gear" output of the receiver, and will that just work or does it need programming? Also the lights have an input of 4-6V, but I am running an 11v lipo, should i use a separate battery for the lights or can I get a step down unit?

2) I bought a set of landing legs from quadframes.com but because of the type of baseplate the 550 uses I cant fix it directly to the base. Is it simply a case of using small fixings and washers through the existing slots in the 550 baseplate?

Sorry is these are daft questions but being a newbie I am sure there will be more :)

Thanks

LeeT

Wannabe AP Dude
Phatfreddy,

I am not sure if I know what a "Geoffs wind" is, but i guess it having one foot in the grave is a good thing? Seriously, I checked out GT Power RC (in the future please include the URL other wise we are guessing) to see what you have. A fully charged 3s lipo should have a voltage around 12.6. This will fry the LEDS in about a nano second. The Turnigy switch (URL?) depending on which on you get will either be an off/on switch or allow you to control multiple LEDs. I have a similar problem with my quad. I initially purchased LED strips that are 12V, and then later on bought single LEDs that were rated for 9V.