Help please, instability when descending..??

andytee

Hi,
I wonder if anyone can help..
I have a Droidworks AD4 V3 heavy lift, with Wookong m flight controller.
It flies absolutely fine.. until you start to descend from altitude.. at which point the motor/propellor tone starts to sound like a swarm of angry wasps, and the quad starts to rock in all directions... as it descends this motion becomes more and more violent, and unless I slow the descent rate right down it gets to the point of nearly flipping... this happens in GPS and Atti mode, I haven't tried manual (I'm very new to flying quads, so I avoid manual)
Many thanks
Andy

Whats your all up weight and payload weight?

My skyjib wobbles if I try to descend faster than it would like. Its much better with a heavy payload, shot with a red recently and it was great on the descent. Adding a little aileron or elevator helps...

Paul

andytee

Many thanks for the reply..:)
Take off weight is about 3450g... There is quite a bit of kit onboard..! Wookong M, Spektrum AR8000 receiver (flight control from DX8), AR6200 receiver (for gimbal and camera control from DX6i) , DJI OSD mk 2, Freefly HDMI converter, DJI 5.8Ghz Video TX, AV130 gimbal, Nex5n with 10-18 lens, gopro 3 black, and a 5000Ma 4s lipo, 2x 5v becs for nav lights and powering HDMI converter, and charging Gopro... Flying with 40amp tmotor esc's and unidentified torxpower motors with 12 x 3.8 carbon props. ( I bought the basic quad second hand so I don't have all the details, and can't find any ID on the motors, think it may have been built by quadcopters)
Motors get just noticeably warm after a couple of 6 min flights, which is what I get off a 5000mah 4s lipo.. (strangely I get identical flight times with the one 4000mah battery I have.. same make..!!)

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
My Naza did this at first. Adjust gains. A little forward motion (or any direction) also removes the wobble as Paul said.

dazzab