Help, don't know what to buy to start..

AaronSJ

I hope I can get some help, I am very new to quadcopters, been reading about them, watching videos, practicing with a little Husban X4..

I want a quadcopter with live video feedback, an FPV, I also want to be able to send it to specific coordinates based on GPS. I'll be using something like an Arduino to send locations or controls to something like a Naza controller with GPS. The purpose of my project is to have a fully automated quadcopter, with some kind of obstacle detection/avoidance, of course with remote override, that can stream live video, for the sake of the project I can just stream the video to myself, but obviously in the future this would be upgraded to be online and even using something like Sky Drone FPV for long range video streaming and control.

I've been looking at a few quadcopters, the SteadiDrone QU4D, their website doesn't make it clear, at least to me, the difference between the Airframe and the full Kit, the frame is $375 and the Kit is $995, Now I am assuming the Kit has motors, ESCs, a controller, batteries and a receiver, but to me that seems a lot of money for those things, is there something I am missing?

I've also been looking at the TBS Discovery, but it seems expensive. The DJI Phantom seems quite complete and a lot cheaper, but doesn't look very customisable.

I've seen a few people use the DJI F450 and strap a GoPro to it, I assume this wouldn't be as good but might be good enough for the project with a transmitter, receiver and battery, also I wouldn't necessarily need something as good as a GoPro.

I wouldn't know which receiver and transmitter goes together really, if I want something like the battery status to be fed back to me on the ground, would I need a transmitter on the quadcopter, and another receiver with me, I've seen remote controllers have a lot of information about their vehicle so is it a 2-way system? Either way this is less important for now.