Good beginner LiPo charger.

I didn't see anything specific to this so I figured I would place a post for it. Didn't want to keep bogging down the group build with charger stuff.

Can somebody recommend a store bought/ UL rated 4S charger with a built in power supply that would be suitable for somebody just getting into the hobby something well-built and simple would be very helpful for us noobs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by a moderator:

jbrumberg

I am sorry as to how I described "charger with a built in power supply". That was my error in description. I can not make any recommendations. I use a iCharger 106B+ and a separate power source.

I am sorry as to how I described "charger with a built in power supply". That was my error in description. I can not make any recommendations. I use a iCharger 106B+ and a separate power source.

Thanks jbrumberg! Still on my quest for info. Every bit helps.

mbowser

I use the accucel 6 charger and am a complete noob. It's reasonably priced and seems to do the job. I have 3s lipos but it will balnce charge a range up to 6s. My only complaint is there is no user manual, but I was able to find several YouTube tutorials on Inge that got me going.

I'll second the iCharger 106b. If I were to start over from scratch, I'd skip over spending any money on a charger with a built in power supply and go straight to a DC charger with external power supply. The only time that an AC charger was handy for me is while traveling. I took several production trips last year with a phantom in a roller case and the entire quad kit plus charger fit into one box. If you're planning to use 4s batteries on your rig, an AC charger will get you around 80 watts or 6amps. You will quickly hit the limitations of that charger, especially if you want to parallel charge later.

Check out this website and you'll be fully comfortable skipping over an AC charger.
http://www.rchelicopterfun.com/rc-battery-chargers.html