Fox news report Drone Invasion

Ronan

My keyboard hates Fox News... they made me slam my head into it multiple times...

picard-facepalm.jpg

TahoeTim

What part of the video wasn't true? I am a private pilot and have flown rc aircraft since I was a kid. I am into drones now and am concerned about the freedom of where we can fly them. No longer do I need to join a club nor do I have to go to a flying field. That makes our sport a target to unskilled people with more money than brains to buy one and ruin it for all of us. A couple of people I know locally own Fpv phantoms and they have no prior rc experience. It's true that the majority of these pilots will quickly crash and leave the sport but at what cost to the drone reputation?

Don't get me wrong. I hate regulations, especially the FAA but a little control is needed I'm afraid.

Old Man

Ed,

I don't disagree with you but based on some of what I've been hearing, we may be facing a lot of control. The poor regular RC guy may end up taking a super hit for something they've no responsibility for and end up only being able to fly at AMA sanctioned, meaning club, fields. From what I've heard, FPV will be over. No line of sight limitations, just over. We can blame it on Trappy, we can blame it on the Phantom menace, but neither would be the true cause. It's going to be about control of the public, and letting some big money players make a lot more big money that will make the circle of money that all those involved grab from continue to go round and round.

It doesn't matter which one people join but I most strongly suggest everyone become a member of some organization that professes to be a spokes body for out craft and hobby. Very shortly the lack of organization will be what closes the door on much of what we do. All those groups need to come together to make a voting block large enough to be noticed by all sitting in office.

FerdinandK

What causes more danger?