First Quad, total newbie in the hobby! Basic questions about parts.

jozzi99

Hi! My name is Joseph.
I am just starting to pick up knowledge about building multicopters. I want to build it on my own, first of all because its cheaper, but most importantly it is much more rewarding building it with my own hands. So I searched for accessories, example builds, etc. and I did come up with these accessories:
- Turnigy Talon Carbon Fiber Quadcopter Frame (498mm) - 240g
- 4x NTM Prop Drive Series 28-26A 1200kv / 286w (short shaft version) - 231g
- 4x TURNIGY Plush 25amp Speed Controller - 188g
- TURNIGY BESC Programming Card
- 8045 SF Props 2pc CW 2 pc CCW Rotation - 45g
- Hobbyking KK2.1 Multi-rotor LCD Flight Control Board With 6050MPU And Atmel 644PA - 21g
- Hobby King Quadcopter Power Distribution Board - 38g
- ZIPPY Flightmax 1800mAh 4S1P 40C - 222g
- Turnigy 9X 9Ch Transmitter w/ Module & 8ch Receiver (Mode 2) (v2 Firmware)
cca. 1 kg + wires, connectors, etc.
So my questions are:
Can these components work with each other? Isn't this configuration too heavy for the motors, props, battery, etc? What additional components do I need? What will be approx. the flight time?
In the future, I would like to upgrade the system to an octocopter, that is why the 9ch transmitter/receiver.

Thank you beforehand!

Best regards,
Joe.

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
Welcome to the forum Jozzi! You have stumbled on a great place for help and to do some more research. ***Put your location in your profile - it helps people help you!***

Firstly, if you haven't already, order a $30-$80 micro quad and start practicing your flight skills. Priceless. Have you found eCalc yet? It's a great online calculator to help you hone in on components for your build.

As far as specific components: I don't have any experience with those motors - but I know I've read bad reviews. Do a little more research about them. Most beginners have good luck with the basic aero drive turnigy's like the D2830-11.