Explain Motors to Me

So I currently have a f550 with naza and stock DJI motors. I have just picked up a TBS Disco frame and a F330 frame to play around with. I really want to put some bigger more aggresive motors on them but I judt honestly dont know what I am looking at! I know some motors are better for heavy lifting, some are better for effeciency..etc. What are the kv's and sizes I should be equating to what performance aspects?

X2 ^^

I'm very new to all of this but I've been doing a lot of reading over the past couple weeks. It seems that there are really no definitive answers to questions like this. Someone with some smarts about these things should build a graph that shows the relationship of different motor types/sizes. It seems like there are hundreds of different motor manufactures out there and they all list some specs, but it isn't very often that you can compare the specs to one another. It's a hobby that's far to expensive to just start trying different parts until you find the ones that work for you. It'd be nice to get someone's who's experienced to help clear things up a bit.

Yea, I've come across that in the past, it's a little intimidating at first glance... and second glance.... and third... and so on.
I've breezed over the help page and it did help a little, but for me I need someone to point me in the right direction. If there were some sample graphs showing different characteristics of different types of multi-rotor copter motors I think that would be of much more help.

Nocteel

Yea, I've come across that in the past, it's a little intimidating at first glance... and second glance.... and third... and so on.