Drones for Dummies?

Has anyone done a list or recomendations for what you need to put a reasonable drone together?
Im new to drones but ok on RC, som Im happy to have a go at assembling my own, I also have reasonable workshop facilities.

Any help on frames, motors, electronics or other items Im missing would a great help.
From a noobs POV Im seeing....a frame, motors x4, props & adaptors x4,ESC's x4 and a control board. GPS and anything else more exotic Im still too new to have an opinion on for now.

I dont need huge airlift capacity, but would like reasonable flight times, is 5 mins asking a lot?
I look the look of the HAL frame from HobbyKing, but will defer to the experts on that.

I even considered just replacing the Parrot internals with off the shelf items, but dont know if that possible or even worth it.

Thanks
BIll N

FlyGirl

Has anyone done a list or recomendations for what you need to put a reasonable drone together?
Im new to drones but ok on RC, som Im happy to have a go at assembling my own, I also have reasonable workshop facilities.

Any help on frames, motors, electronics or other items Im missing would a great help.
From a noobs POV Im seeing....a frame, motors x4, props & adaptors x4,ESC's x4 and a control board. GPS and anything else more exotic Im still too new to have an opinion on for now.

I dont need huge airlift capacity, but would like reasonable flight times, is 5 mins asking a lot?
I look the look of the HAL frame from HobbyKing, but will defer to the experts on that.

I even considered just replacing the Parrot internals with off the shelf items, but dont know if that possible or even worth it.

Thanks
BIll N