Can this really be true?

adanac

I have just called a major multi-rotor dealer (whom I will not name but whose banner ad may even appear above as you read this) who has said that in order to properly fly something as small as a GH2, one must spend at least $8K. He said no stable, professional-looking footage is possible with a platform that costs less than that. He also said implied no stable footage was possible with any gimbal except a Zenmuse.

In addition, he described the multirotor I was considering, the S800, terrible. He didn't want to sell me one. If what he says is true I'm grateful for the information, but I'm not sure where that leaves me now.

Do I really have to spend upwards of $8K to get a platform that will shoot well with something as small as a GH2?

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
what components might you already own or will this be your first RC vehicle?

adanac

Bartman, this would be my first one. I'm an NYC based camera operator and I think I've caught the bug. Some of my clients would be happy with GoPro footage but I need to aim higher than that for other clients and myself. Moreover, if possible, I would prefer not to buy something that I'll grow out of very soon. If possible, I'd like to lift up to 1.5kg, excluding gimbal, although I'd settle for 1kg to start.

I've been researching here for a couple weeks and this dealer's (strong) opinion runs counter to my inference.

jcmonty

In my opinion that's not true. Sure you can spend that amount and get a very nice setup, but it's possible to get smooth footage with a much less expensive setup for a camera the size of a Gh3. With the new direct drive brushless gimbals coming out on the scene - even "Zenmuse" quality is coming down in price.

DJI frames tend to pass vibration more easily than others. I have no experience with teh S800, but it wouldn't be my first choice if spending that much.