F450/NAZA flipping over on takeoff

irvan36mm

Hi everybody! This is my first time flying Quadcopters (and my first post to the forum),but not new to RC.
Been racing 1/10 oval cars for 14 years & recently got me a DJI F450 & NAZA controller
as a sort of an RC fix in-between race days.

I finally got the 450 assembled,got a 3S pack charged & the NAZA programmed.
Went to do some hovering practice in the driveway when all of the sudden,
the 450 shot straight up into the air above the house. I have a Futaba 6EX radio
and don't have a spare channel to have the NAZA Fail Safe programmed to,so I
switched off the radio. The 450's motors shut down & the quad came down had onto
the driveway & broke 1 arm and damaged a motor. After installing a replacement arm and
motor, I tried to hover again. But now, the 450 wants to throttle-up heavily and flip over to the right.
I noticed that the LED unit for the NAZA was flashing red, like the battery protection was
kicking in..but the battery was fully charged.
I hooked up the NAZA to my laptop to see if I could reprogram the unit and noticed that there was
a code saying "IMU-OFF"

Any suggestions as to why this is, and how I can fix this problem,if possible?
Thanks in advance!!
-George

irvan36mm

Hi patrick!
I just got done reading the other post you suggested & his problem was exactly the same as mine,
except I was using a 3s battery, and I tried it even after disabling the voltage cutoff.
But the Assistant software still says "IMU-OFF", like it was giving me the finger..LOL

Anyway,unless anybody has any more suggestions, I will try to program again tomorrow.
I am thinking the NAZA may be damaged internally from the crash, but as I stated before, it shot up
suddenly with no warning and no control input from me. And my props are still in one piece.
Could it have started after I took-off???
I have also emailed DJI support about it, along with the retailer I purchased the NAZA
from. We'll see how it goes from there.

Thanks again!!