multi-rotor recommendation needed for work

alky6

Quick background:
I am a fixed wing guy from the sister site (Giant Scale News) and I asked this same question there. I was directed over here, obviously much more relevant! I have been flying small foam electrics to giant scale gas airplanes. I have electric experience (Lipo, Life, brushless) so I am not a total noob in that arena. However, I don't have any multi-rotor experience.

On to the question:
OK. Sorry if this is the wrong location but my company (an irrigation district - supplies water for crops and drinking water) is looking to get a quadcopter to document pre-construction (and post) project conditions, provide footage to our Board, and perform general inspections of facilities that are not always easy to reach (radio towers, pipeline leaks in remote areas, maybe even pull a small water sample - a few ounces- out of a canal - a very low probability of that occurring). I am assuming @SleepyC and @Bartman will probably be good candidates to answer, but I am sure many of you have relevant experience to share. Again, if you guys feel this is out of place, a discussion offline maybe? Any help would be appreciated.

We are currently looking at the Phantom 3 professional. What questions should I be asking to ensure we get what we need?

Thank you all in advance!
-Paul

mediaguru

I guess you should ask several questions:

1. What is your budget?
2. Do you want to build a bird or are you looking for a RTF (ready to fly)?
3. What kind of load does it need to carry in terms of camera/analysis gear?
4. What flight time do you require?

alky6

I guess you should ask several questions:

1. What is your budget? $2,500
2. Do you want to build a bird or are you looking for a RTF (ready to fly)? RTF (not going to be mine, otherwise probably would)